Google Rolls Out Panic Detection Mode In Android 7.1 Nougat To Protect Users From Malware: How Does It Work?

0
SHARE


Google quietly added a brand new panic detection mode in Android 7.1 Nougat, a characteristic that may assist defend customers towards malware.

Hacking incidents have been on the rise lately, as malware resembling CopyCat, which contaminated over 14 million Android gadgets final yr, and Xavier, which was discovered in additional than 800 Google Play Store apps, lately made the headlines. While consumer consciousness stays one of the best safety towards malware, Android’s new panic detection mode will assist struggle again towards hackers making an attempt to hijack the consumer’s gadget.

Google Rolls Out Panic Detection Mode

The new panic detection mode was first found by XDA Developers, and no, it doesn’t name the police when customers panic after malware infects their Android gadget.

Some malware apps begin to take management of an Android gadget by disabling its buttons, together with its again button, to forestall customers from getting again to the house display or switching to different apps. When that occurs, the possible response is for customers to panic, and begin frantically urgent on their Android gadget’s again button to attempt to entry the house display.

After 4 presses in speedy succession, the panic detection mode kicks in. The characteristic will detect that the consumer’s frantic presses on the again button is just not regular, and can re-enable it to get them again to the house display. Afterward, customers can then delete the app that attempted to hijack their Android gadget.

Why Did Google Launch The Feature Quietly?

Google didn’t publicly announce the launch of the panic detection mode possible as a result of it didn’t need to tip hackers that such a characteristic is in place. While it’s now the topic of a number of stories, it can nonetheless possible be potent sufficient to struggle again towards malware, even when hackers now learn about it.

With the characteristic now out within the open, customers ought to take observe that it’s in place for supported gadgets. After making an attempt to press the again button and solely returning to the house display after a number of tries, it ought to be taken as an indication that an app tried to hijack your Android gadget. Recently downloaded apps ought to then be deleted to purge malware off of the smartphone or pill.

As Google launches extra anti-malware options for Android, one of the best safety towards hackers is for customers to stay vigilant. Users are extremely really helpful to solely obtain apps from trusted sources and builders, or else they may discover themselves needing to typically use the panic detection mode.

© 2017 Tech Times, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce with out permission.


Leave a Reply