Google’s new “Backup and Sync” app lets you back up your desktop to Drive

0
SHARE


On the Web, Google Drive is usually used as a competitor to Microsoft Office. You get apps for phrase processing, spreadsheets, and slides. On a desktop laptop, the Drive app takes on a unique type—it is a Dropbox competitor, syncing your information to the cloud from a particular folder. This week, Google introduced the Drive desktop app is altering; it isn’t even known as “Drive” anymore. Now this app is known as “Google Backup and Sync,” and it good points a number of new options whereas merging with the Google Photos Syncing app.

While it is not taking place by default but, it seems like Google is planning on routinely upgrading customers of the Drive and Photos syncing apps to the brand new unified app. It’s clearly the brand new model of the Drive app (simply model three.x as a substitute of two.x), and operating the installer will do an in-place improve of the prior app. On the primary launch, a dialog field explains a bit in regards to the transition.

The new app has all of the options of the Drive and Photos apps, and it hyperlinks to each websites within the menu. But there’s one main new function that takes the app out of the Dropbox mildew it was initially solid in: now you can again up any folder to Google Drive, as a substitute of simply the only “cloud folder.” A UI helps you to open a folder dialog field, the place you’ll be able to cloud-enable any folder, anyplace in your laptop.

This appears to mainly be a backup system. On the Drive Web app, you may see all of your computer systems listed, and reasonably than transferring the brand new folder into the Drive listing, backed up folders from every laptop stay beneath the pc names. These are computer-specific information and do not get synced right down to different gadgets. It’s strictly a backup system.

Having Google Photos exist as a part of Drive remains to be a little bit of a clunky function. I do not want tons of of gigabytes of historic images downloaded to all my computer systems by default. Fortunately, you’ll be able to nonetheless decide and select which folders you need to sync, permitting you to uncheck the “Google Photos” folder.

Backup and Sync will ultimately hit your laptop in case you have the Drive or Photos sync apps put in, however you’ll be able to manually obtain it right here.


Leave a Reply